Back to the Evil Dowager Princess for #WIPpet Wednesday

Even with all the guests gone, I’m *still* not back to serious writing. As some of you may have already noticed, I have a 99c sale on Yseult running this week, the first marketing gig I’ve set up in a couple of months. While I have a number of ads running, I have also been doing some of the standard social media stuff.

I also tried to get a Facebook ad set up for Chameleon in a Mirror today, to test the clickability of the new cover image. Steep learning curve there, since I’ve never done a Facebook ad before, and the fact that I live in Europe and want to advertise to the US seems to complicate things a bit. Nor am I a Canva expert, which is what I used to create the image to go with the ad.

Chameleon in a Mirror

Even though they have templates for Facebook ads, I think next time I just use Photoshop. Let me know what you think!

Since Monday, I’ve only managed to get 600 new words written. That’s what marketing does to a gal … But without marketing, I don’t sell a damn thing (or close), and when I don’t sell a damn thing, I get frustrated and don’t feel like writing anymore. Which is why I have finally made my peace with the need to market. 🙂

Next up, WIPpet Wednesday! We are back to the evil shenanigans of the Dowager Princess, in a scene from Facets of Glass which I hope will speak for itself. 11 short paragraphs for 9 + 2:

The apple was lost, but Dowager Princess Zilia had other items from Chiara’s hand with which to find the wayward glassmaker. Before she sent Gaetano to Bohemia, she needed to know the glassworks where Chiara was working in Prague.
“Here, take this goblet,” she said, giving the witch a wine glass with delicate slopping sides that opened out much like the petals of a lily. “I need to find out more about the person who made it.”
Vanna caressed the wooden frame of the mirror and then stepped back. “Magic mirror please show to me,
“Where the maker of this goblet might be.”
After their reflections faded, a glassmaker’s workshop once again took shape in the mirror. This time, Chiara had what looked like a giant pair of tweezers in her hand and was plucking at a blob of glass on a rod. As interesting as this insight into glassmaking might be, it was not what Zilia wanted.
“Can the mirror show us the outside of the building?”
Vanna nodded. “Magic mirror, please move away.
“Out of the door and into the day.”
Zilia found herself wondering why the mirror had to be spoken to only in rhymes. Perhaps it wasn’t even for the mirror and instead was more for the client who booked Vanna’s services?
Either way, it worked. Chiara’s figure disappeared into the mists swirling through the mirror, and shortly thereafter, the image of a narrow lane with colorful houses appeared. As the image slowly focused on the front of the house, the dowager princess could discern a large window with a display of glass vases, beakers, goblet, and bowls. Above the window stood the German name “Friedrich Glas Prag.”
Zilia smiled. Now she knew where to order the glass coffin.

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

11 thoughts on “Back to the Evil Dowager Princess for #WIPpet Wednesday”

  1. Great scene. I really felt like I was there–it was very visual. Looking forward to more.

    Yeah, the marketing thing doesn’t come naturally to me. I don’t have to think about that yet, but I know that when the time comes I’ll have to learn. Any advice you have would be much appreciated!

    1. The thing that has worked best for me to make marketing less of a chore is to try and regard it as a puzzle, a kind of challenge to figure out what works and what doesn’t. At least this way I’m actually doing marketing again! 🙂

  2. Ah! That glass coffin. What a neat image and tight way to end the scene. I also liked how she was distracted by the rhymes. Just as in real life we tend to slide sideways at the slightest provocation! Keep marketing and sharing what you learn. You have helped me so much! All the best for a good week.

  3. Ooh…that last line. *shivers*. Yikes!

    Interesting that Zilia would think the rhymes might be more for showmanship than for the magic. I think that says something about her character, and how she views reality.

    I’m curious to see what’s next – here, and in your marketing, too. I like the idea of making it a puzzle. I’m not yet ready to publish, but I am getting closer, and I’m gathering a lot of knowledge and insight from your willingness to share this part of your journey with us.

    The artwork is intriguing, by the way!

Leave a Reply

