Arguing about a mirror for #WIPpet Wednesday

I am slowly getting back into the swing of things again. Not only did I do a lot of marketing organization and research last week, finish my weekly page counts on the translation, and makes lots of jam and jelly out of a small percentage of our tons of apples (as well as relish and pickles from zucchini and cucumber), I also got 2700 words written. 🙂 That’s not where I want to be yet, but given that it is fall, and there’s lots to do in the garden, I’m inclined to cut myself some slack and be happy with the progress.

I’m already way past the projected word count on Shards of Glass, and while the end is in sight, I don’t think it’s going to come in at under 40,000 words. At the same time, I’m itching to get back to other projects. There may be some jumping back and forth in my near future. *g*

With that brief update, let us move on to an excerpt from Facets of Glass for WIPpet Wednesday. This snippet comes immediately following the one I gave you two weeks ago. The Dowager Princess has just learned the name of Chiara’s place of work in Prague with the help of the magic mirror. 16 sentences this week for the 16th, plus 2 to end the scene:

“If you have enough information, perhaps it would be possible for me to take the looking glass back to my own establishment?” the witch suggested. “You can still consult it at any time, Your Grace.”
The Dowager Princess gazed at the witch, while the image of the narrow street in Prague slowly faded in the smooth glass of the mirror. “As I told you when you first brought it,” she said slowly, “I do not want anyone else accessing its magic at this time.”
“I could make it available only to you.”
What was it that Vanna did not understand about her request to keep the mirror here in the Foscari palace?
“Is my steward not paying you enough?” Zilia asked.
Vanna glanced at the mirror. “It is not that. I am worried that something may happen … to it.”
Good, so their mutual distrust of each other was established. But it would be foolish of Zilia to allow the mirror to be damaged — she was still in need of its services. “Rest assured that I will see to it that nothing becomes of your mirror, Vanna.”
“Very well, Your Grace.”
Perhaps this was no more than an attempt by the witch to wring more money from her for keeping the mirror in her rooms? Well, Zilia was feeling pleased with what the mirror had shown them, she would afford to be generous. “I will instruct my steward to pay you more as long as this mirror remains with me. I hope that meets with your approval.”
“Thank you, Your Grace.”

WIPpet Wednesday is the brain child of K. L. Schwengel. If you’d like to participate, post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link here — where you can also read the other excerpts.

10 thoughts on “Arguing about a mirror for #WIPpet Wednesday”

  1. I have a colander full of plums on my kitchen table. Many friends have come and taken bushels and bushels away from the exploding tree, and there are still some out there, but I got as many as I could.
    I haven’t made jam in years, but this year I want to because…well… I don’t want that gorgeous fruit to go to waste! It’s bad enough that there are hundreds of drops littering the ground.
    One more thing to add to the to-do list when I’d rather be writing.

  2. Apple jam/jelly sounds wonderful. I’d love to have an apple tree or two one day, but there isn’t really a place to plant one at our townhouse. In the meantime, I found a recipe for slow-cooker apple butter–maybe I’ll pick up some apples at the farmers market and try it.

    Happy autumn, Ruth!

  3. Apples and plums, oh my! My taste buds are crying out….we’ll be apple-picking maybe next week.

    I’m thinking that something almost HAS to happen with or to the mirror, now..

    Enjoy the garden time, and the slack – I’m positive it will feed the writing as well as bellies! =)

  4. Been enjoying some nectarine and plums I got at a farmer’s market last weekend. Yum! Fresh fruits and veggies are the bomb, they just need to be eaten in a timely manner or are at risk of getting tossed if they sit too long.

    Love the snippet. Zilia is very intriguing. I am definitely hooked.

  5. I’ve got a pile of apples and pears to stew up at the moment; I think someone at my supermarket over ordered
    They were selling for 30c each last night!

    I don’t blame the witch for being worried! It would be hard to let an object like that out of your sight, even if it’s in the interests of the person wanting to keep it to protect it, too.

  6. Play and counter play. I sorta hope Vanna turns out to be a little too much for Zilia, though it could easily be the other way around.

    By the way, do you pronounce Zilia zee-lee-ah or zil-ee-ah?

Leave a Reply

