Another one bites the dust: The Midlist

Last week, I posted about the results of my most recent 99c sales. Among the sites I listed as worth planning a promo around was “The Midlist.”

Well, not anymore. They have been so successful collecting addresses from readers, they have sold their list to Bookperk, an email subscription service exclusively for HarperCollins authors. Here’s the text of the email I got just a day after that blog post:

Dear Midlist Authors,

Thank you for helping us to grow a thriving community of readers on The Midlist. We know the hard work that goes into creating a story that connects with your audience, and we’re excited to continue investing in your success.

For a little over a year, we’ve built a mailing list of avid readers on The Midlist. At the same time, we have also partnered with the daily reader email Bookperk to help them build up their reader community. Our two reader communities have a lot in common, and we’ve now agreed to extend our partnership by merging The Midlist into Bookperk.

So, what does this mean for you as The Midlist author? It means we can focus 100% on developing our flagship product, instaFreebie, the best audience development tool in the industry. We believe the future of publishing is in the author brand, and the best way to build audience for authors is to share content.

Additionally, as a big thank you to our authors, you will receive three months use on the instaFreebie product, free of charge, when they sign up to a new premium account. We’ll be sending The Midlist authors a redemption code in a follow-up email very soon.

We’re grateful for the chance to support you as an author every day. Please feel free to reach out directly to me with any questions or feedback at Jason@instafreebie.com. I’ll individually respond to every email.

Sincerely,
Jason Freeman
CEO

And what is instaFreebie, you might ask yourself? Why it is a special promotional opportunity where you can spend $20 a month to give your books away! Doesn’t that sound just grand? You can read all about it here.

Another one bites the dust
Of course, this doesn’t have anything to do with A Song of Ice and Fire, but I just love this too much. 🙂

Needless to say, I will be purging “The Midlist” from my various blog posts about where to promote your books. I can give my books away for free quite well myself, thank you. And when it comes right down to it, with the exception of my permafree books, I’ve been trying to move away from free as a promotional gimmick. I don’t intend to offer any of my complete novels free again unless I get another BookBub ad.

So, who else feels like Atlas pushing that boulder uphill when trying to get the word out about their books? Sigh.

One thought on “Another one bites the dust: The Midlist”

Leave a Reply

