Changes for #WIPpet Wednesday, and a brief update

For Nanowrimo, I have temporarily set aside the second and third books of The Glassmakers Trilogy and turned to a prequel to The Pendragon Chronicles, Ygerna. Just for fun and inspiration, before starting it, I slapped together a cover:

Ygerna

I wasn’t actually intending to use it for publication, but now I find that I’m liking it better than I expected. What do you guys think? Can I use it? If so, what changes would you still suggest? (I definitely don’t want to keep the corset, frex, since that doesn’t really fit in 5th Century Britain. *g*)

On to the first excerpt! I’m going to make it easy on myself and begin at the beginning with the first 11 paragraphs for the 11th day of the 11th month:

Weddings can be anything from dazzling to excruciating, but more often than not, they are at least memorable. By the look of the guests arriving at Dyn Tagell, this wedding was shaping up to be particularly dazzling.
Ygerna’s little brother Geraint tugged her hand. “I can’t see!” he complained.
She chuckled and took pity on him, lifting him up and settling him next to her on the stone wall. He was big for a five-year-old, and it took some effort. Soon, she would no longer be able to carry him around at all.
“Will the High King be coming to the wedding?” he asked.
“I don’t know.” She wiped sweat from her brow with the back of her hand. It was unseasonably warm for May on the coast of Dumnonia. But perhaps the sunshine would reconcile Argante to having her wedding here in this coastal fortress rather than the capital city of Isca. There had been many tearful arguments on that count between her and their parents, but their father Erbin had been adamant — with Pict and Erainn pirates haunting the western coast of Britain, he could not afford to be away from his strategic summer stronghold during the raiding season.
“King Vortigern is very busy,” she added.
“So is Papa,” Geraint protested.
“True enough.” Resting one arm on the stone balustrade, Ygerna peered down at the newly arrived guests. From their vantage point above the land bridge, they could see the parties crossing to the promontory singly and in pairs — given how narrow the passage was, little more was possible. Sunlight glinted off the jewelry of the richly dressed men and women, but from this distance, she couldn’t recognize any faces.
She pointed. “Look, there’s the Pendragon banner. But I can’t tell if the High King is of the party.”
Geraint leaned forward, and Ygerna wrapped a protective arm around his waist to make sure he wouldn’t tumble down the side of the cliff.
“Do you think one is Uthyr, leader of battles?” he asked.

Here, BTW, is the book description I put up on the Nano site: “When young Ygerna first meets Uthyr, Pendragon of Britain, she is dazzled by the handsome and famous warrior. But when Uthyr interprets admiration as consent and takes her by force, Ygerna’s hero worship turns to hatred.
“And she will do anything to get revenge on the man who got her with child and ruined her life.”

As you can tell, it’s a rather radical reinterpretation of the Uthur and Igraine story, but I never bought that one in the first place, so I’m making it my own. 🙂

As many of you know by now, K. L. Schwengel is stepping down from the post as Head Wippeteer and handing the reins over to Emily Witt. Huge thanks to Kathi for keeping it going for so long. It’s been a grand time. 🙂 But it’s not over! The rules will still be the same: post an excerpt from your WIP on your blog, something that relates to the date in some way. Then add your link to the Linky. I do hope this change won’t mean the beginning of the end for our little blogging community, so do keep playing, everyone!

Update: I’m a bit behind on Ygerna in Nano terms, but the site tells me that my daily average is 1200 words, so I’m quite happy with that. I still have about another 5 pages to translate on the Viking novel, after which I can hopefully make up for lost ground. But my marketing efforts have largely come to a halt, and my sales are suffering accordingly. I don’t seem to be able to do all three effectively at the the same time, translating, marketing and writing. One of them always seems to suffer. So that is something I still need to work on.

19 thoughts on “Changes for #WIPpet Wednesday, and a brief update”

  1. “Geraint leaned forward, and Ygerna wrapped a protective arm around his waist to make sure he wouldn’t tumble down the side of the cliff.”

    AUGH! Don’t do that, Geraint! Make him get down, Ygerna. Heesh. Heights. *shudder*

    I didn’t realize Uthyr was originally leader of battles and not born king. How interesting!

    With the cover, I like the concept a LOT. The positioning and colors are great. The aged castle with the very-modern renn-fair gal wearing her underwear on the outside is a little jarring, though. If you can do the same thing with a more recently built looking castle and accurately clothed, woman, it would be awesome. 🙂

    1. No one knows for sure who Uthyr might have been originally, and since The Pendragon Chronicles are closer to history (5th Century) than the medieval Arthurian romances, I’m trying to base my versions on older sources.

      And I definitely agree with you — the corset would have to go no matter what. 🙂

  2. Love the excerpt, and the dialogue. The art, in general, is good.

    As for two out of three, maybe that’s just fine?

    I’ll be here as near to every week as I can manage, regardless of who’s at the head of the week’s adventures! =D

      1. Honestly, pretty much all I’m thinking of is my NaNo WIP and whether my daughter is going to attend a birthday party she’s been invited to, because what she chooses will affect my weekend activities.

        But if I tell you about these, it’s only going to confuse you… =)

        Good was the best I had, then. I can add that, even though I haven’t looked at it since, it’s lingered in my mind, so that’s probably a *good* thing, right?

        Maye I’ll be more articulate in a few days, when I finish the draft…. =D

  3. 1200 words a day is still rather spectacular!

    I love that you’re taking on this story. I’ve always found Uther rather repulsive (this may have to do with repeat viewings of the Sam Niell movie, Merlin, in which Uther is the biggest creep who ever creeped), so I like that you’re making Igraine the heroine.

    1. I don’t know the Merlin movie, but I could never understand a woman getting impregnated through trickery then marrying the guy who did it and killed her husband. Huh? Had to create my own version. 🙂

Leave a Reply

