New covers for Looking Through Lace – please vote!

I just got two new cover designs from Lou Harper for my SF novella Looking Through Lace, and I would love some feedback!

Here is the description:

As the only woman on the first contact team, xenolinguist Toni Donato expected her assignment on Christmas would be to analyze the secret women’s language — but then the chief linguist begins to sabotage her work. What is behind it? Why do the men and women have separate languages in the first place? What Toni learns turns everything she thought they knew on its head.

Originally published in Asimov’s in 2003, “Looking Through Lace” was a finalist for the Tiptree and Sturgeon awards. The Italian translation won the Premio Italia for best work of speculative fiction in translation in 2007.

And here is the present cover:

It’s one of the first covers I did with my daughter, and I figured the book could finally use a facelift. 🙂

So what do you guys think? Which do you prefer and why?

24 thoughts on “New covers for Looking Through Lace – please vote!”

  1. #1. (I think #2 ended up looking more like a thriller cover for me, mainly because the color scheme + the choice of background made it hard to see what I was staring at was a nebula, and I thought it was some kind of forest fire).

  2. I guess I’m the contrarian here. The first cover seems like “looking through hair” to me. And she doesn’t look like the Toni I imagined while reading, so … I like the second cover better. The colors remind me of how you described the atmosphere of Christmas.

      1. But why must there be hair across a face? That’s more romance novel, no? I’d rather see the second one modified to be more space-atmosphere-y than forest-fiery.

        On Wednesday, December 9, 2015, Ruth Nestvold – Indie Adventures wrote:

        > Ruth Nestvold commented: “Since I’m of two minds myself, I understand > completely. Maybe the cover artist ould weave the stars more into the hair > across the face …”

    1. I’ve written the cover designer about some modifications. “Looking Through Hair” was the hands down winner on Facebook, so that’s the one I think I need to use as a basis for the final cover.

  3. Okay… since you asked… Honestly, I like the original best. The nebula has a much lacier feel to it to tie in more with the title. Of the new ones, I lean toward #2 but like #1’s color scheme better. Also, not sure about the ‘orb’ in the woman’s eye in #2. I find it pulls my eye directly to it and that’s all I see, wondering what it is.

    1. That’s not what I wanted to hear! *g* But seriously, if just isn’t professional enough. I can’t get ad slots for “Looking Through Lace” anymore, and if I can’t get ad slots, the book drifts into obscurity. I like our design too, but I also see its limitations.

  4. I like the second one better. I’m meh on the hair in the first one, and I also like the colors better in the second one.

    Too bad you can’t keep the third one…I was all set to vote for that one until I realized that was the current one! LOL

  5. I think the eye in #2 is too close of a close-up to get the ‘through’ bit of looking through Lace.
    I keep wanting to say to the woman on #1, “Get that hair out of your eyes!” 🙂
    I like the current cover too … so by default, it’s #1 for my vote

      1. Aw, that’s so sweet of you! But I fear you are wrong. 🙂 As far as sales are concerned, I am very obscure, unfortunately. Might well have to give up the experiment soon and go back to a real job. 😦

Leave a Reply

