Happy New Year! And some new goals and old

Happy New Year, everyone! For New Years, we took the granddaughters to a bridge across the Neckar, where we had a great view of fireworks in all directions. We shot about 30 Euros worth into the air ourselves. Here’s one:

Fireworks above the Neckar

2016 is getting off to a pretty decent start, as far as far as production goes. My word counts are steadily increasing, and I’m hoping to up them even more. I don’t know how much translation projects will cut into my writing time, but I am (once again) going to try to find a better balance. *g* Hey, I’m finally pulling it off between marketing and writing, now I just have to integrate translating into the mix!

Goals for the first quarter of 2016

Business:

– Get Dragons from the Sea to Judson. The translation is complete, but my significant other is still working on the corrections.

Writing

– Write an average of 5000 words a week, or do 15,000 words of revision. I need to challenge myself to start writing more on a regular basis, so I can get some of my many projects finished. (See below.*)

– Start revisions of Facets of Glass and Shards of Glass

– Write 2 new short stories

– Revise “Pool of Souls” and send it out

– Finish rough draft of Ygerna

Writing business:

– Schedule ongoing promotions for my books

– Publish “Starting Out as an Indie Author”

– Upload more story collections to D2D and Kobo (Oregon Elsewise, Earth to Mars, Story Hunger)

– Submit 5 short stories to traditional markets

– Publish “Shadow Artist”

– Publish “Degrees of Separation”

– Publish Cutting Edges; Or, A Web of Women as an ebook (It is presently only available on the Web as hyperfiction)

– List books with Babelcube & Noisetrade

– Put together collection of my writing articles with Jay Lake

– Put together collection of fantasy stories with Jay

* Long list of projects to be completed to cycle into the above goals:

A Wasted Land

Fragments of Legend

– Unnamed Thriller

– Another installment of Looking Through Lace

An Airship for Elise

Dragon Touched

I think that will be enough to keep me busy. 🙂

Good luck to everyone this round!

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year! And some new goals and old”

  1. Ruth, I’ve got everything crossed for you so that it all works out. I know what it is like to have a long list of unfinished projects (and there’s always the projects you want to start). It might take some adjusting and fine tuning, but I’m sure you’ll balance all your tasks. Best wishes for the round! 🙂

  2. Your list of WIPs looks a lot like mine. A few months ago I was worried that I had too many, but I’ve come to the conclusion that this is just how my creative process works. Lots of stories on my brain.

    Good luck with 2016, Ruth!

Leave a Reply

