Writing, sales, taxes, and more from Ygerna for #WIPpet Wednesday

It’s amazing to me how inspirational regular sales can be for my writing. And I don’t think it’s just a matter of greed. *g* Just seeing a steady increase in books bought and pages read makes this whole writing addiction seem so much less like some kind of idiotic weakness on my part. It’s working! I’m finding an audience! Maybe I really can make real money at this someday!

And that puts all kinds of inferiority complex demons to rest, which in turn makes the writing somehow easier.

Speaking of which, the new Looking Through Lace boxed set is doing very well during its introductory 99c sale. I’ve sold 85 copies so far, and it’s made it into several top 100 lists. Here are the rankings last time I checked:

Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,633 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)

#32 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Science Fiction > First Contact
#34 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Science Fiction > Galactic Empire
#38 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Science Fiction & Fantasy > Science Fiction > Space Exploration

Whoopie!

On the less positive side, on Sunday I started doing our taxes, and all that wonderful writing momentum has ground to a halt. Our taxes are a very complicated affair, unfortunately. Last week, I got 5100 new words written. This week, only 200 so far. :/

On to WIPpet Wednesday. Last week, we left Ygerna making embarrassed excuses to her betrothed. Today I’m giving you 3 paragraphs for the 3rd of the month that pick up right where we left off:

“The weather,” Gurles repeated deliberately. “Then why does he keep looking at you like that?”
The few bites of honeyed custard she’d eaten — one of her favorite desserts — was beginning to feel like a stone in her stomach. Yes, why was Uthyr looking at her that way? At the same time, his intense gaze made her nervous in that strangely pleasant way she’d felt around him before. And when it came down to it, why was Gurles asking her such questions, as if she had done something wrong? She hadn’t even been aware of Uthyr’s attention.
She shook her head. “I don’t know.”

Igraine / Ygerna
Igraine / Ygerna

Emily Witt is our host for the snippet sharing session, in which we post an excerpt from a WIP on our blog, something that relates to the date in some way. If you want to play too, add your link to the Linky.

8 thoughts on “Writing, sales, taxes, and more from Ygerna for #WIPpet Wednesday”

  1. Hi,
    Your WIPpet got my attention. I look forward to reading more.
    Also, I pick up your set. I didn’t know it was on sale on Amazon Germany’s site. Sometimes what is on sale on the dot com site is not available for ExPat readers who live in Germany.
    Shalom,
    Patricia

  2. Lovely as always. Ygerna is right; she’s done nothing (thus far, anyway) to deserve Gurles’ accusations.

    So you’ve had a lesser week with the taxes. Understandable. And, eventually, they’ll be done, and I bet your counts will head up again.

    I’ve been meaning to pick up Looking Through Lace. I’m going to go ahead and make your sales count higher, even if I can’t help with your word counts. =)

  3. I really like the description of the custard turning to stone. It’s really vivid, and I think we’ve probably all had that feeling at some point or another.

    That is a stunning artwork. I keep scrolling back up to it.

    Good luck with the taxes! I hope they’re as stress-free as possible.

Leave a Reply

