New ads for Yseult, and a late #WIPpet for Thursday

I was analyzing the Facebook ads I have running today, and I noticed that I’m getting very few clicks from women on my ads for Yseult. That strikes me as a bit unfortunate, since it’s a retelling of Arthurian legend giving some of the female characters much more prominence and more pov action. So I’ve decided to experiment with a new ad in addition to the old targeting a female audience. I will write new copy emphasizing the female perspective, and I’ve been putting together some alternative images today to test with it:

Yseult

Yseult

Do please tell me what you think! Anything is fair game, I don’t bruise easily. 🙂

Given the ad analysis and graphics work I’ve been up to, I’ve haven’t gotten any words written yet today, but generally the writing is going well. I think I may have written the last sentence of Dragon Touched yesterday. I was envisioning it ending in a different place, but then I realized that would end up being a bit much wind down. The first draft is still not completely done, since I have to backfill important elements that only occurred to me during the writing, and add more detail as well as the sex (something I tend to put off, much like battle scenes). But I think the complete shape is there now, and I’m coming up with more and more ways to continue this thing if there’s a demand. Pretty amazing to me how quickly I was able to knock off a first draft on this one! Hopefully I can learn something from the experience for my other projects.

Even though it’s Thursday already, I’m still going to throw a WIPpet snippet at you in parting. 🙂 Once more from Ygerna, which I will be returning to more seriously in the next few days. 14 sentences, for 11 + 2 (today’s date), and one to finish the scene. This comes right on the heels of the excerpt I gave you last week:

Gurles laid his own spoon down, without even having tried his custard. “Ygerna,” he murmured. “Uthyr has a reputation with women. I think you should stay away from him.”
She was grateful for the ambient noise of the wedding banquet, which she hoped had made his softly spoken admonishment impossible for all but her to hear. It would be much too embarrassing otherwise. In private, she might have excused his patronizing words, but in public she found herself fuming.
At a far corner of the long table, someone was raising their glass in a toast to someone else. Ygerna ignored it as if she had not heard, breathing deeply.
Eventually she trusted herself to speak again without lashing out.
“Thank you for your advice.”
She pushed her custard away and rose. “I find I have lost my appetite,” she said to the table at large. “Please excuse me.”

Emily Witt is our host for the snippet sharing session, in which we post an excerpt from a WIP on our blog, something that relates to the date in some way. If you want to play too, add your link to the Linky.

13 thoughts on “New ads for Yseult, and a late #WIPpet for Thursday”

  1. I love both those images, but I REALLY love the second one. They are very “female friendly”. Do you think the lack of women clicking has to do with the fact that, as a general rule, men like fantasy better than women do? I’m not sure I’m even right about that, but it seems to be the case from what I’ve heard. What do you think?

    1. The genre might well have something to do with it, Lauralynn, even though there are plenty of female fantasy readers out there. That’s why I want to do an ad tailored more towards the “Mists of Avalon” audience this time.

  2. I love them both but being an Athurian geek I would, however being a woman the ad appeals to me, especially the image of the woman on a horse sitting the correct way and not stupid side saddle. Love the sneaky peak.

    1. I actually want to give the ending away, Widdershins — otherwise I get romance raging at me for not giving them the HEA that is their right as readers. 🙂 And those who know the legend, know it can’t end well …

  3. I like the first background picture best. It brought to mind the ridge over which Ygerna saw Uthyr when you started giving us Ygerna WIPpets. 🙂

    I don’t blame Ygerna for being embarrassed and angry, but I have a feeling (and a little knowledge of the Arthurian tales) she should take the advice to heart.

  4. I like both ads–not sure I could choose between them. I might like the second one a wee bit better, but only slightly. Good luck! I’d love to hear how the Facebook ads help with sales. I’m trying to learn more about marketing best practices for writers, so any input you can give would be great.

    1. I’m definitely no expert in Facebook ads, Denise, but I think the highly targeted, low daily budget ones I’ve been doing recently are helping to keep my books visible. I’ll put it on my list of blogs I still have to do before I wind up my “Starting out as an indie author” series.

Leave a Reply

