Testing new Covers for Chameleon in a Mirror

Since I’ve recently had rather disappointing click-through rates for Chameleon in a Mirror, I decided to try testing some cover designers through Fiverr, just for fun. I wrote about the option in my book Starting Out as an Indie Author, but I had never used it myself. There’s a saying here in Germany, “Probieren geht über studieren.” (Trying is better than studying.) So here I am trying! Here are the cover designs I got from my first Fiverr foray into covers:

Chameleon in a Mirror cover

CIAM cover

For the sake of comparison, here’s the present cover:

And here’s the very first attempt:

What do you guys think? I have to admit, I had the feeling the new covers stood out better in thumbnail for sure, but I’d love a bit more feedback before I finalize. Thanks in advance to anyone who responds!

8 thoughts on “Testing new Covers for Chameleon in a Mirror”

  1. I do like the second of the two fiverr covers the colour of the background make the figures stand out and catch the attention. I do like the fourth cover as well, the blue mask looked really intriguing as an image but I can see how it wouldn’t stand out as a thumbnail.

  2. Love, love, love the top one 😀 … the colours are really evocative of the era … the clocks are fabulous … half-turned away figure draws the eye in. Could do with maybe making the title font on ‘Chameleon’ a bit bolder.

    I like the slightly lighter background shading in the second one, but that dude had got to go – he stands out like a sore thumb, and not in a good way. 🙂

  3. I like the current cover, but it sends a completely different message (fairytale) than any of the other three. The one with the gentleman screams romance, and the one with just the woman says “sexy Victorian.” I think that covers are literally like new descriptions of the book, new blurbs. If it matches the book, wonderful, but if not, then you’ll get more click throughs but less satisfaction from readers looking for a steamy Victorian if that isn’t there. The original version is very interesting visually, but way too busy. It feels like you’re trying to tell me the entire story on the cover.

Leave a Reply

