An Initial Attempt at Rebranding: A New Cover for Yseult

As much as I like the cover I already have for Yseult, the conversion rate for my ads is going from quite respectable to abysmal. Not completely understandable, since I haven’t changed the book description or cover for a long time, but given how many clicks I’ve been getting recently without sales, I decided it was time to experiment again. So without further ado, here is the first cover experiment for Yseult:

Yseult

The idea for this cover is that it maybe / hopefully fits the epic fantasy conventions better, which often have one decisive image rather than an illustration, like the original cover had. The other consideration is that the first cover might be too romantic in tone to draw the right readers. While Yseult is based on a tragic love story, there is a lot of political intrigue and loads of battles. A bad-ass sword just might be the better image for that than a gal and a moon, even if there is a sword on that cover too. But most people don’t notice it until I point it out to them.

Anyway, wish me luck. This may not be the first, since I’m determined to work on this until I get a better conversion rate for my ads. 🙂

13 thoughts on “An Initial Attempt at Rebranding: A New Cover for Yseult”

  1. I’ve liked all the covers, but never felt the urge to buy. Part of the issue is I can’t pronounce the name, which sets up a bit of discord in my mind. The second part is that it’s described as an Arthurian legend, which brings to mind Beowulf or Gawain and the Green Knight. Good, wholesome fare like broccoli for the mind, but not something I would impulse buy. Previous buyers may have thought it was more of a romance, while the current cover says more of a Game of Thrones vibe. But I would look more at the text than the cover. Why should I get this particular take on an Arthurian legend?

    1. That’s interesting feedback on the name — I never considered that! But yes, Game of Thrones is definitely the vibe I’m looking for (fair amount of battles and sex and death), so I think I must be on the right track. 🙂

  2. The new cover looks appealing to readers of historical fiction (I’ve debated the same issue of genre for my historical fiction, opting to follow the designs of Rutherfurd and Follett. Best of luck on that conversion rate.

  3. After reading your reasons for this, I think you’re right. Although I’d have probably made more of the sword. But then I’ve seen a lot of the modern covers pulling back from too much details and leaving space, which this does. Best of luck Ruth.

    1. The Y is like an I, so you would pronounce Yseult much the same as Iseult, or maybe a little longer, like Widdershins suggested. I just like the “Y” spellings better because they strike me as less French. 🙂 I tried to stay away from the French spellings to make them fit with the less chivalric tone of the books.

      Same for Ygerna (Igerna or Eegerna). Which is coming along well, by the way! The problem is that it has grown to a novel of over 100,000 words, so that threw all my planning out of whack.

  4. Ꮇagnificent goоds from you, man. І hɑve սnderstand your stuff
    previous to and you’re just extremely fantastic.
    I actuаlly like what you have acquired here, really like whɑt you’re saying and the way in which yoս say it.
    You make it enjoyable and you still care for to keep it wise.
    I cant wait to read much more from you.

    This is actually a tгemendous web site.

Leave a Reply

