What I Do When I Take a Break From Writing, Part II

A couple weeks back, I shared some sewing projects I did to reward myself for sending Ygerna off to beta readers. Strangely enough, one of those projects has already had over 30 repins on Pinterest. 🙂 I know that’s not exactly earth-shattering, but since it’s something I just threw together and posted, without any intention of making any waves — even small ones — I found it rather interesting.

I have since gotten back to writing, and am working on putting together a complete draft of Facets of Glass, the the second book in The Glassmakers Trilogy after Island of Glass. But during my week long vacation from writing, I lasted about two days before I started brainstorming something new, based on this:

Snow queen story cover

I don’t remember anymore how I stumbled on this lovely premade cover during my “writing vacation”, but I thought it was so cool, I had to have it. And once I bought it, I had to start brainstorming the story to go with it. I have a pretty good idea now what the basic plot arc will be, but I still haven’t decided on a title. I like Winter Solstice, the title already on the cover, but here are some of the others I came up with:

Stealing Ice From the Snow Queen
Stealing Ice
The Cold Blade
Blade of Ice

Since I’m not that far along in the brainstorming department yet, I could tweak things depending on the title I choose. For this project, though, I am definitely intending to go more in the direction of fantasy romance, to try and create a book that is more marketable than what my imagination usually comes up with. 🙂

Let me know what you think!

4 thoughts on “What I Do When I Take a Break From Writing, Part II”

  1. Hi Ruth!
    Love the cover… and I love “Winter Solstice” as a jumping off point, it has a suggestion of a date/deadline/time by which certain tasks must be fulfilled – which always turns up the suspense-o-meter 🙂
    can’t wait to see what you knit out of it!
    *hugs*

  2. And then there’s that key earring … hm-m, many possibilities. 😀

    Looking forward to it too. 🙂

    I’ve had some great story ideas pop in from the aethers based on a piece of art that caught my attention.

Leave a Reply

