Creating Aliens by Deborah Walker

A nice article about creating alien species for science fiction!

milfordsfwriters

When I first started writing, I read Orson Scott Card’s advice about creating aliens in How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy. Card discusses developing the evolution of the distinct biology of an alien species, and how that imagined evolutionary process informs both an individual’s thoughts and actions and the aliens’ culture.
That was advice I could really sink my teeth into. I’ve written a fair few aliens since then, always thinking about that advice, but with an added aspect: stealing blatantly from Mother Nature

My aliens are based on the reality, the science we currently understand. The starting point for one of my other races is often an earth creature, sometimes more than one as I pick and mix. The diversity of Earth’s species is astonishing. There are, to my mind, some truly strange creatures out there.

Adult Vampire Squid attribution © Citron / CC BY-SA 3.0

Adult vampire squidEarth Organisms I’ve Used…

View original post 942 more words

4 thoughts on “Creating Aliens by Deborah Walker”

Leave a Reply

